Director Election Process Underway

Each year, the Board of Directors reviews the director districts to assure equitable representation on the board. Take a look at the Director District map, and you’ll see that some districts cover much more landmass than others. This is because, while these districts are larger, they contain fewer people. A prime example of a small area with many people is Director District 3A, which is Fort Clark Springs, in Brackettville.

Since the names of the Nominating Committees were first published in last month’s edition, there was a change due to a member’s inability to serve. The names listed below are those who are charged with selecting this year’s slate of qualified candidates to run for a seat on the RGEC Board of Directors.

If the Nominating Committees do not select you, and you have an interest in having your name placed on the ballot, you may do so by running by petition. This involves having a minimum of 15 members from the district in which you are running sign a petition. You can find the forms on our Board of Director Elections page. You must also meet the requirements outlined in the Bylaws, Article IV, Section 3, Qualifications. Deadline for filing by petition is August 10, 2022.

Director District 1

Chairman Carl Fisher

Don Farmer

Doris Jackson

Director District 3

Chairman Donna Schuster

Bill and Carolyn Conoly

Ralph Gomez

Director District 4A

Chariman Jesus Azua

Clifford Spencer

Pat Fritz

Director District 7

Chairman Debbie Aufdengarten

Charles Angell

Frederick Bayler, Big Bend Natural History Association