Electrical Safety Poster Contest


Open to ANY student in grades 1-6, attending an accredited public, private, or home-school program, in ANY county RGEC serves*. Parents/Guardians do not need to be members of RGEC.

How To Participate

Students are asked to illustrate principles of electrical safety. Posters should be a ½ sheet of white poster board. Art should be original, and drawn/colored by the student (not parents), and may not be computer-generated, cut out of magazines, etc. Students may not paste cotton, beads, etc. on the poster. After the child has completed their poster, please email a high resolution photo of the poster to sede@rgec.coop by the close of business, April 1, 2022. Poster can also be mailed to: RGEC Communications, P.O. Box 1509, Brackettville, TX 78832. Include the child’s name, age, grade, and mailing address (for certificate of participation). Entries received after the deadline will not be considered in the judging for the over all winners.

Certificates Of Participation

Certificates of Participation will be awarded to every child who participates.


Judging will be conducted by RGEC employees, or an appointed committee of employees. Entries will be divided into two age groups, 1st-3rd grade and 4th-6th grade. Entries will be judged not only on artistic ability, but more importantly, the electrical safety message portrayed. Division winners will be notified upon completion of judging. RGEC will make the announcement of division winners on the Co-op’s social media pages, and to local newspapers, which may or may not elect to print the photograph.


The (overall) winner in each division will receive a $50 Wal-Mart Gift Card. RGEC will publish the names and photos of the two overall winners on social media, newspaper press releases, and in our monthly magazine, which is distributed to Cooperative members (approx. 6,600) in 18 counties in Texas and 2 counties in New Mexico.

*Counties include: Brewster, Crockett, Culberson, Dimmit, Edwards, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Kinney, Maverick, Pecos, Presidio, Reeves, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, Webb and Zavala in Texas, and Eddy and Otero Counties in New Mexico.